· Responsible Fish Keeping
· Rainbow Fish
· Shark Fish
· South American Cichlids
· Tanganyika Cichlids
· Tetra Fish
· Tropical Fish Food

Hybrid View

1. Default Bacterial or parasite infection?

0 Not allowed!
    Hi again. Daisy, the new betta, has herself a 5 gal tank all to herself. I think the setup is pretty good.

Anyway, when we got her I noticed her belly looked a bit swollen...didn't notice until I got her home, of course (that's the way it always goes). It seems to be getting worse. She is still swimming about, looking lively, but the belly is growing. I have been fasting her for a day with no improvement.

She has been having this stringy white poop, which leads me to think parasite infection, but the bloat itself make me think bacteria. I added some maracyn 2 to the tank this am, but then realized that maybe I need some help figuring this out.

Please help me think this through. And, if it is a parasite, how do I treat it? I am new to bettas, and have never had a parasite problem, so I'm kinda clueless.

Poor Daisy. I can tell she's uncomfortable. Thanks for your help.

0 Not allowed!
    It sounds like your fish has two problems. Constipation is an issue with bettas, and can easily lead to organ damage and dropsy. If the fish has a pineconed appearance when viewed from above, it is probably already too late. If not, try feeding microwaved peas for a while to see if the constipation clears up. As for the parasites, soaking pellets in garlic extract will take care of them, but do this after the bloating has been fixed. It is very important to not overfeed bettas.
    <-- Click for journals
    "There is no right way to do the wrong thing." - KingFisher "Only bad things happen fast in this hobby" - Cliff

3. Default

0 Not allowed!