PDA

View Full Version : I'm brand new at this.

Glasstapper
06-13-2006, 05:14 PM
Hey everyone. I live in Tucson, AZ and I'm 25 years old.

I have a coworker that's giving me a 55 gallon tank, so I thought it would be great to start a freshwater tropical aquarium. Ever since I was a little girl staring at the dentist's tank in his office, I have always loved these colorful and lively fish.

I have been doing lots of reading and trying to educate myself on the proper care of these little guys. I had no idea it would be so interesting and require so much attention (I love it!).

Besides setting up my aqaurium to be a great habitat, the only trouble I'm having is picking which ones I want! There are so many to choose from!

I'm sure I will be here often to ask lots of questions because after reading some other threads, I realized how friendly and informative everyone is here. Great site! :D

rollie
06-13-2006, 05:26 PM
we try to help. this is the good site. it one of the best on the web!!! not the best, but very good. i am sure you will like it here.

Glasstapper
06-13-2006, 07:22 PM
Thanks, rollie! I have no doubt I'll be here everyday. I already have a question. I hope none of you think I'm being silly because I seriously don't really know much about this yet.

Can I have live coral in my tank? Would I start growing them first, then add the fish, or does it matter?

rollie
06-13-2006, 07:29 PM
live coral will not like in a freshwater tank.

they need to be in a salt water tank.

there is no silly questions, when it come to keeping tropical fish.

Incredulous_Ed
06-13-2006, 08:14 PM
stay away from coral in a freshwater tank/

William
06-13-2006, 10:29 PM
And dead voral raises pH levels.

Welcome

Glasstapper
06-13-2006, 10:45 PM
OK, thanks guys! :D No live coral.