PDA

View Full Version : DIY 5.5 Gal. Tank Stand And Canopy

Dsoto87
09-15-2007, 09:13 PM
Hello. Long time lurker, first time poster. I have a small 5.5 gallon tank sitting on my dresser in my room but the dresser is just too short. My 2 year old son is able to stand on a couple things and reach right in. I was already planning on building a stand for a 55 gallon but, i have no experience so that would be a pretty bad idea. I thought I may as well start out by building on a small scale. I dont have any experience in carpentry or anything like that. I just did some research on the subject, used a little common sense, and asked people around me who are familiar with woodworking or stand building.

This is a Work In Progress

I went to home depot, and spent less than $20 for some 1x3s (2x4s would be too big for such a small stand, since i wanted the inside space to put stuff in) and a few small sheets of plywood and some wood glue

heres what I have so far

Right now im in the process of cutting the ply wood to cover up the ugly screws. Ill keep you guys posted as I finish more

EDIT: forgot to say, this thing is sturdy. Im pretty proud of what ive done so far since ive never even worked with wood before

Dave66
09-15-2007, 09:17 PM
Welcome to AC. You should do triangular blocks at all verticle joints to reinforce them. Water weighs 8.5 pounds, with gravel and everything you're looking at nearly 50 pounds of dead weight. Stand needs to be dead level as well, anything not in square will put stress on the tank.

Dave

Dsoto87
09-15-2007, 09:35 PM
Likea i said, I have no experience with wood working so could you explain to me what exactly you mean by triangular blocks at the vertical joints. Its level, I checked everything once,twice, and thrice over again.

gm72
09-15-2007, 09:37 PM
He means that all of the joints going upwards should have a triangle of wood screwed into the joint to prevent any swaying of the structure.

Dave66
09-15-2007, 09:41 PM