PDA

View Full Version : interacting with oscars

cocoa_pleco
09-15-2007, 02:49 AM
since my oscar always follows me, i figure i should try puting my hand in the water and seeing what he does. the one thing stopping me- i just read on yahoo on how some girls boyfriend got bit by a oscar when moving plants and he lost a chunk of his arm and blood was allover, and he didnt feel well the next morning.

are the odds strong he'll bite me?

Arkie
09-15-2007, 05:08 AM
i think its up to the individual oscar, bert and ernie wont bite me, or even attempt it, but oscar on the other hand! he has lept out of the water to get me and when i was planting plants in his tank today he was very close to trying to attack my hand. i usually just softly push him back if he threatens to bite and that fixes him, but today he actually turned back around to try and bite me again. i spose just try and see what your oscar does. im only new to oscars and im still learning as i go. hopefully yours doesnt try to bite you hey. im scared of the day when oscar's fully grown and he decides if he doesnt want me in his tank and will not listen to my gentle push away from me!!!!

cocoa_pleco
09-15-2007, 05:20 AM
lol, mine always looks up at me when i feed him or do water changes, like hes gonna pounce on me or something.

harvey
09-15-2007, 11:37 AM
I don't know cocoa....mine come to me and Mary will jump out of the water for food. But they all retreat when I am doing a water change.

2manyfish
09-15-2007, 02:06 PM
Mine bites me because he's looking for food! When he realizes I don't have any (or that my fingers are in fact 'not food') he stops. Doesn't hurt at all. Doesn't draw blood either. At least not yet!! He's only about 9" TL so I guess I'll find out as he grows!

Under normal circumstances most oscars aren't going to be that aggressive anyway. If there are eggs in the tank or the female is about to lay eggs then I could definitely see that happening!

cocoa_pleco
09-15-2007, 04:05 PM