PDA

View Full Version : 300g Shark/Ray aquarium

glarior
04-20-2012, 04:58 PM
This is the start of my first journal. I have been doing aquariums since 2000 and got invovled in saltwater 2008/2009 (I don't remember which year lol). I have learned a lot over the years and now want to take on something more advanced... sharks, rays and eels.

I highly recommend the book "Aquarium Sharks & Rays: An Essential Guide to Their Selection, Keeping, and Natural History" by Scott W. Michael

The setup at this time:

6ft x 3ft x 27" aquarium with black backing
~400lbs of fine grain sand plus ~100lbs of my current live sand
Live rock - unsure how much at this time.
Sump - in debate with bioballs, live rock and/or fluidized sand bed (what you think?)
LED lights - trying to figure out how many LED's to use
Octopus skimmer for 300g
Algae scrubber - May 1st is the release date of Santa Monica's new design/patent. Can't wait!
simple stand

[LIST=1]
step 1: locate the current 75g aquarium and rebuild/reinforce the floor.

step 2: bring home stand and figure out how to move the aquarium inside the house

step 3: if step 2 is successful I will bring the aquarium home with bulk supply of salt

step 4: install aquarium, plumbing, wait 2-3 days for the RO/DI filter to fill the aquarium.

step 5: let aquarium run for a while and add my lion, eel and puffer to the aquarium

step 6: this will happen when I think the aquarium is ready and matured, relocate puffer to reef tank, introduce shark/ray.

step 7: ultimate challenge/goal, have the sharks/rays reproduce!

Wow, seems so simple right? :hmm3grin2orange:

Lady Hobbs
04-20-2012, 05:11 PM
Sounds like an awesome tank project but I know of no sharks or rays that could go in a 300 gallon.

glarior
04-20-2012, 05:22 PM
Sounds like an awesome tank project but I know of no sharks or rays that could go in a 300 gallon.

The rays I am still researching.