PDA

View Full Version : Test tube rack



Suda Nim
03-07-2012, 04:57 PM
I got tired of the tubes falling over, so I made this:

http://i822.photobucket.com/albums/zz144/Packie_Rattie/Fishtank/f5a21f2d.jpg

It's a 4-1/2" length of 1x2, with 1/2" holes centered 3/4" apart. I used a spade bit, and eyeballed the depth using the fraction line in the "1/2" marking.

We have a chop saw, drill press and belt sander, so total time was about 15 minutes.

(She married me for my cooking, I married her for her power tools.)

pjoo1120
03-07-2012, 07:35 PM
I got tired of the tubes falling over, so I made this:

http://i822.photobucket.com/albums/zz144/Packie_Rattie/Fishtank/f5a21f2d.jpg

It's a 4-1/2" length of 1x2, with 1/2" holes centered 3/4" apart. I used a spade bit, and eyeballed the depth using the fraction line in the "1/2" marking.

We have a chop saw, drill press and belt sander, so total time was about 15 minutes.

(She married me for my cooking, I married her for her power tools.)

Great DIY! I've been thinking about something like this as well because I'm tired of knocking over tubes tool. I just need the tools.... sigh.

nikelodeon79
03-07-2012, 08:03 PM
I don't have the tools either... but I'd buy one and pay shipping if you'd make one for me! Maybe one with room for six test tubes? PM me if you're interested in selling one to me!

pjoo1120
03-07-2012, 08:21 PM
I don't have the tools either... but I'd buy one and pay shipping if you'd make one for me! Maybe one with room for six test tubes? PM me if you're interested in selling one to me!

Oooh, me too! Althought I think I only need room for 3?

raven
03-07-2012, 09:06 PM
if you lived close to me i would give them to you

prog_frog
03-21-2012, 04:30 PM
Brilliant! I'm off to Lowe's to get the 1/2" drill bit. ;)

Thanks for posting!