PDA

View Full Version : Sick Tiger Barb

Ed357
02-06-2012, 07:59 PM
I'm new to freshwater aquariums, it's been 1 1/2 months and think the tank cycled. I added a few new fish (Catfish and Tiger barbs) catfish died in 4 days and one by one the others followed. I went from 9 fish (20 gal) now have 3 (2 Rosy Barbs- healthy and one last Tiger- very sick. I dont know what to do, I think he got Ick from the Catfish (dead 4 days now) I'm treating the water with Ick and Fungus guard. he is still floating nose mostly downward, rapid gills and mouth. I now noticed black spots under his scales (appears to be inside, mostly on the sides) still has white spot also. water balance is not too bad. Ammonia is at a .50 (higher today) zero nitrites, but PH stays around 6.2-4 regardless the daily half dose of either "PH up" or "PH 7.0". any sugesstions before I have to bury another fish with my 6 year old?
Thanks

nikelodeon79
02-06-2012, 08:45 PM
A 20g is really too small for a proper sized school of Tiger Barbs. They are quite aggressive, particularly when they are not kept in numbers above 7-8 individuals.

Fish who are chased/attacked a lot get stressed, and stressed fish get ich and other diseases.

Additionally, the presence of ammonia in your tank suggests that it is either not cycled or is/was overstocked.

Do a very large water change to get that ammonia down and keep monitoring the ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate levels in your tank. If you do not have a liquid test kit and are instead using test strips, I would recommend getting a liquid kit (I like API's master test kit).

Have you washed out the filter media with tap water? If so, you may have killed off the beneficial bacteria. Filter media should never be changed all at once, and should only be rinsed in used tank water.

Fishin Phil
02-06-2012, 08:49 PM
Agree that first step is definitely 50% water change. You need to get that ammonia down to .25 or lower.

Stlouisfish
02-06-2012, 09:14 PM