PDA

View Full Version : New 4" anubia on rock

cardiocentric
01-28-2012, 01:52 AM
Have I done this correctly? I am new at this, so I'm not quite sure. I sure like the way it looks, but can't procure/afford any driftwood.
http://i44.tinypic.com/nlc2o8.jpg

gm72
01-28-2012, 02:01 AM
Looks right to me. It will be very slow to attach, probably a few months I would think.

cardiocentric
01-28-2012, 02:13 AM
it was a pain attaching it to the rock, i'd read that fishing line or a rubberband was suitable, but of course i had neither. SO, i had to resort to THREAD, and i lost my patience with it several times before getting it into place.. thankfully it's in it's new home and i'll never have to move it again. lol. any good online suppliers of driftwood? my large anubia needs to be mounted like this and i didn't know until later that was somewhat of a requirement.
*wishing for my 20 gallon tank already*

nikelodeon79
01-28-2012, 05:19 AM
Thread is actually the method I use cause it eventually rots away... No need to remove it once the plant attaches itself.

Strider199
01-28-2012, 05:24 AM
Looks great cardiocentric! Well done.thumbs2:

cardiocentric
01-28-2012, 06:05 AM
awesome!!!! i thought thread might've been the way to go. :D

gm72
01-28-2012, 06:38 PM
Attaching to driftwood, while aesthetically good to have, is not a requirement. I have a lot of anubias and most are planted in substrate. They do wonderfully.

Strider199
01-28-2012, 07:00 PM
^^^ thumbs2: I also like the look of an anubias planted in the substrate, just remember to leave the rhizome above the substrate a wee bit.

Countrylovin4evr
01-28-2012, 07:24 PM