PDA

View Full Version : So I got a Christmas Present...

Nakor
12-29-2011, 04:18 PM
My girlfriend with good intentions got me an aquarium, rocks, some fake plants, a heater, and the offer to buy me some fish.

Now she did this because Im a student, living in an apartment where I cant have pets really, and I left my golden retriever at home. I love dogs, I would have as many as I could afford really, and will someday, but not in this apartment! Im also the kind of person who takes the spiders outside and brushes mosquitoes off instead of squishing them. Just so I don't seem like a complete wuss, I was also in the infantry reserves (Canadian) for six years (this means full time work for 1/3 of the year to anyone who cares). ANYWAY, I digress.

She got me http://www.petplanet.co.uk/product.asp?dept_id=1257&pf_id=56644, not sure if that's the exact one, mine was a 6.6g. http://www.fluvalblog.com/ is the best I can find of that companies "website". First I thought, I get emotionally attached to things way too easily, are fish really a good choice for me? After looking up potential fish life spans, I felt better about this.

Then of course my engineering and physics background took over and I began thinking practically and ridiculously in respect to my degrees (engineering for the "how?" and physics for the "well what if..."). Most importantly I want the fish to be happy. I have already taken everything back (sorry girl) since high tanks are not good for a larger population, and 6.6g isnt very big. Now I have visions of 55g saltwater tanks floating in my head...I watch too much blue planet.

Anyway, all in all still undecided about even getting fish, especially where I will have to move in the future, possibly more than once, and being a student could be gone fairly often. I don't want to get fish just to kill them!

I've been doing a lot of reading on this site as well as others, I plan to make an informed decision. And by god live rock is expensive!

DylanisHawttt