PDA

View Full Version : Hatching eggs in a breeder box?

Grey
10-14-2011, 12:28 PM
I'm new to raising killifish and decided to try from eggs. I've got everything I need: a planted tank filled with aged water, a sponge filter, heater, patience, brine shrimp eggs, daphnia and other critter cultures, plenty of extra java moss and the likes but the one thing I am unsure of is what to hatch the eggs in.

I have a clear plastic breeder box designed for pregnant livebearers; it has two removable grates inside that allow fry to move away from the parent fish and hide so they aren't devoured. It is placed in an aquarium and floats gently on the surface of the water before settling against one side of the aquarium.

I wanted to use this breeder box to hatch my killifish eggs in as it seemed like the ideal "containment facility"; it allows the temperatures of the water to stay constant while allowing a very gentle flow of water through the box thus preventing stagnation. My concern now is the side panels; they have slots in them to allow water to flow through the box - I'm concerned the killifish fry may escape through these slots and into the main aquarium before they are ready. I'm not sure if killifish fry are smaller than, say, platy or guppy fry (which is what the box is designed for) so I'm not really sure if this is a good idea.

I'm also concerned because the instructions I've read time after time regarding hatching and the endless amounts of research I have done recommends a tiny container to begin with. The breeder box is a marvellous contraption and I would prefer to hatch the killifish eggs in stable conditions. I truly feel the box would be my best bet for hatching but am wondering what you all think of it.

Should I use a small container separated completely from the main aquarium or is the breeder box safe to use for hatching? I'd float some java moss in the box to allow hiding places, as well.

Thank you for your time.

redbullbill
10-15-2011, 02:10 AM