PDA

View Full Version : RCS breeding questions

HarryB
09-16-2011, 11:02 AM
Ive got around 10 red cherry shrimp in my tank at the moment, they are housed with danios, neons and white cloud minnows. theres just a couple of things i wondered if someone could answer :)

Can you tell the difference between male and female RCS by looking at them?

Is there a way to tell if they are carrying eggs?

How often do they breed?

Will they breed in a tank with fish?

Wat conditions are the best for breeding?

Cheers Harry :)

HEADIN
09-16-2011, 11:27 AM
im very new to keepin rcs myself so im sure other people can add in their comments also.

i have a few females who are carrying eggs (berried). you will notice underneath the shrimp they will be full of tiny eggs which they constantly move and turn. i have mine in 15gal with fish and hopefully will get some survivors.

they will and do breed very quickly. so all i can say really is if you look closely you will be able to tell straight away when a female is full of eggs.

HarryB
09-16-2011, 11:46 AM
okai thankyou, hopefully yours survive :)

ive got plenty of hiding places that youngsters can hide so i hope i get a pregnant female that i can watch :)

another question to add, Is there a certain age of maturity in shrimp??

HEADIN
09-16-2011, 12:31 PM
honestly not sure on that 1. i got mine not 2 weeks ago from chris fraser on here and already i have found 2 that are full of eggs. so they have wasted no time at all in getting down to it and they are not the biggest 1s in my tank either. i havent seen my tank since sunday there so im hoping when i get home later i may even find a few more lady shrimp all bulked up with eggs.

HarryB
09-16-2011, 12:45 PM
fingers crossed for u :) cheers

Brhino
09-16-2011, 01:47 PM
Females are more brightly, solidly red than males. Here's a pic from my tank:
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c376/starmike82/DSC_0263.jpg
The female is on the right.