PDA

View Full Version : 30 gallon

BBB
08-02-2007, 07:37 PM
HI, everyone, New to forums.
I have a 30 gallon tank dimensions: 30ins wide 12ins deep
This is only my second tank so i am still learning. My tanks been set up for about 3 weeks. I have a redtail shark thats been in there for about a week and a half. I just got an electric yellow cichlid/ yellow labs. I am planning on having 1m and 2 female electric yellows. Also would kribnesis cichlids work with them or is the tank too small??

Fishguy2727
08-02-2007, 09:26 PM
In general it is not good to mix rift lake cichlids (the electric yellow labs) with fish not from the same lake (more specifically the same type of fish from that lake). If you are wanting to do the labs I would suggest removing the shark and sticking with just mbuna (the rock-dwelling herbivores from Lake Malawi, this includes the labs).

BBB
08-02-2007, 09:36 PM
oh well if i were to just put in kribnesis cichlids, do you think the redtail would be fine? Or could i remove the redtail and get 3 electric yellows and a few red zebras or is that to much for a 30 gallon tank. I think I know the answer to this but if it is at all possible i would like to do it.

sergo
08-02-2007, 09:44 PM
what kind of filtration are running on the 30?

BBB
08-02-2007, 09:48 PM
Its a tetra whisper 30 power filter. Is that enough. I have a bad feeling ur going to say I need more filtration.

sergo
08-02-2007, 09:54 PM
ok, i don't see a big problem with about 4-5 of the smaller mbuna in there if you add some better filtration to what you have, like maybe a canister. i have a whisper 60 and a fluval 305 on my 55 cichlid tank (check my profile for occupants). the thing is that you'll really only be able to have 1 male and the rest female so you'll have to get some different species in order to get some good coloration in the tank.

Fishguy2727
08-02-2007, 10:01 PM