PDA

View Full Version : Just wondering...

aquarium kid
08-17-2011, 08:50 PM
Hi, I am new to plants and wonder if I need to add c02 or if it would help them grow. A couple of days ago I got a java fern and an Anubias nana. I have them under a 25 watt 5500k bulb anchored on some drift wood. Would co2 help there growth much? Just so you know they are in a 46 gallon bow front tank.

SLeen
08-17-2011, 09:04 PM
you dont really need co2 for just a couple plants, especially not hardy low light types like the ones you have. All plants like fertilizer though. you could get some tabs that just go under the gravel.

But they should be fine.

smaug
08-17-2011, 09:49 PM
plus 1 sleen

mermaidwannabe
08-17-2011, 11:13 PM
Yeah, these are hardy, no-maintenance plants. I have them in my tanks with just standard aquarium lighting and no ferts. They absorb the nitrates in the tank and are doing just fine.

If you'd like some additional visual interest and no maintenance necessary, try marimo mossballs. They just sit on the substrate. When you vacuum your gravel you can roll them around a bit so they aren't always sitting on just one side or in just one place, but other than that, they're completely self-sufficient.

-- mermaidwannabe

Stlouisfish
08-18-2011, 02:35 AM
+1 with everyone above - I also have a few java ferns & anubias and I just have regular lighting from the hood that came with my 46 bowed tank & no fertilizer needed - those are "easy" plants.

aquarium kid
08-18-2011, 12:40 PM
Thanks for the information everyone. I was wondering if anyone knows a good moss that is low maintenance and low light. I have read that marimo moss balls will take over your tank in time. Do you know any mosses that won't over run your tank?

Angel keeper
08-18-2011, 07:42 PM