PDA

View Full Version : xp3 with Sponge prefilter ?

hungryhound
07-28-2007, 02:22 AM
i have a couple of questions about my filter set up on my 30 gallon shrimp tank. On this tank I am running a Rena Filstar Xp3 with a sponge prefilter over the intake to keep the baby shrimp from being sucked up into the filter. I have been running this setup for a couple months and have noticed some problems and would like some advise on how to fix it.

The sponge prefilter works wonderful in that it catches everything and when I open up my filter to do tank cleaning it looks clear. It has a tendency to clog rather quickly and I have to rinse out the sponge every 3 to 4 days.

here is a picture of the tank in question with a picture of the prefilter on the right.

http://i204.photobucket.com/albums/bb221/amp4221/aquarium%20blog/a227.07052.jpg

The biggest problem that I experience is that the filter volume per hour is extremely slow with the sponge on there and comes to a near stop when the filter is full.

Do you think that this will cause damage to the filter?

Is there a better method to keep the shrimp babies from going into the filter without slowing down my flow rate so drastically?

I do not know if this is a result of the reduced flow rate, but the XP3 has a constant mist of fine bubbles coming out of the spray bar.

Could this be a result of the filter working so hard to pull in the water that it is pulling in air form one of my weaker seals?

I have burped it and jostled it and checked and tightened every hose on the filter but nothing I have done seems to work.

Any advise on how to fix this problem or information on if this is going to cause undue wear and tear on my filter would be appreciated.

Thanks for your help.

Drumachine09
07-28-2007, 02:27 AM