PDA

View Full Version : Want some shrimp!

Kriblover
07-26-2011, 01:26 PM
Im thinking about buying a 5 gallon aquarium for some shrimp. Any ideas on what kind. I am not going to add any fish. So it will be just shrimp. I am new to shrimp keeping so any advice would be very helpful!

Brhino
07-26-2011, 01:27 PM
red cherry shrimp are usually given as one of the best beginner shrimp. They're fairly hardy (for shrimp), not too expensive, they're colorful, and they breed easily.

Kriblover
07-26-2011, 01:34 PM
Ok. I have seen those before. Do they need anything special? Food? The tank? Size? Plants? Anything? What other shrimp would work?

Lady Hobbs
07-26-2011, 01:35 PM
I have RCS (red cherry shrimp). I found with these guys if they have black gravel, it will bring out their red color. I have some in a tank with brown gravel and can hardly see them.

PS...Just took a quick pic for you. They're having breakfast. You'll see some drab colored ones in there. I think those are the males.

Kriblover
07-26-2011, 01:40 PM
So black gravel brings out their color. I'll buy some of that. Any plants or something else. Thanks for the advice!

Lady Hobbs
07-26-2011, 01:57 PM
They eat algae constantly so have to have plants. I just crammed some java moss, rocks and driftwood in their tank. (I'm lazy.) They clean everything so it doesn't matter. I give mine shrimp pellets or an algae waffer now and then if I worry there isn't enough algae. I use a sponge filter.

Kriblover
07-26-2011, 02:02 PM
So you need a filter? Even with just a small tank? What kinds of plants? Fake? Real? How much are the shrimp pellets? How much are RCS themselves? Thanks! You have no idea how much you have been already!

Brhino
07-26-2011, 02:20 PM
So you need a filter? Even with just a small tank?

Yes, you need a filter. Shrimp tend to be sensitive to water parameters so you never want to add them to anything other than a filtered, cycled tank.

What kinds of plants? Fake? Real?