PDA

View Full Version : Lionfish and what?

MentalTwitch
07-27-2007, 06:42 AM
I'm sure i'm not the only person but Lionfish are awesome. The elegance is amazing. Anyways, I love clownfish also. Pretty much just looking to do Lionfish...1 or 2 and then 3-4 clown. I know i won't use real anemone due to the lionfish. But what else would be ok? I want to get an Emerald crab and some camel or fire shrimp. Is this possible? I am a noob to salt and still learnign thanks for any help guys.

Sorry about the length. :22:

unleashed
07-27-2007, 10:29 AM
I'm sure i'm not the only person but Lionfish are awesome. The elegance is amazing. Anyways, I love clownfish also. Pretty much just looking to do Lionfish...1 or 2 and then 3-4 clown. I know i won't use real anemone due to the lionfish. But what else would be ok? I want to get an Emerald crab and some camel or fire shrimp. Is this possible? I am a noob to salt and still learnign thanks for any help guys.

Sorry about the length. :22:
Lions will need a huge tank to survive as well as heavy filtration. They will also eat the clowns and the camel and fire shrimp.

Lions will only be safe with fish/inverts that they can't fit in their mouth

2manyfish
07-27-2007, 02:07 PM
What type of lionfish are you thinking of? ANY lionfish will eat the shrimp, possibly the crab. Clownfish may or may not be lunch depending on the type of lionfish you choose. For example, the fu manchu is a small lionfish and will be fine with any type of clownfish. They don't need a huge tank either (30g), but they are also one of the hardest lions to switch over to "dead" foods. The dwarf fuzzy will also be alright with all clownfish as long as the clowns are in the tank first.