PDA

View Full Version : Heeeelp!! New Tank Refuses to Cycle!

Migforce
07-23-2007, 07:23 PM
I need some serious help on this. I set up a tank 5 weeks ago. It is a 30 gallon tank with a "Wisper" 30 filter in it that came with a tank kit. Currently I have 8 Zebra Danios that are my catalyst for the cycle. My problem is this...Its been 5 weeks total, my ammonia has spiked about three weeks ago and is not going away. Nitrites are still reading big fat 0 on all tests. I have been changing water at the rate of 10 gal. per week to keep ammonia down...What am I doing wrong? Or could it be that the filter just sucks and is not keeping up? I need advice bad, I have no prior fish experience. Thanks in advance.

PS. I dechlorinate the water prior to adding it to the tank.

Bill M.
07-23-2007, 07:28 PM
Is your tank the one from walmart... the 29 gallon??? Thats what I have and I love it....

About your cycle, it is very wierd the cycle hasnt started.... have you been cleaning the filter and the gravel? If so, thats your problem. While 90 percent live in the filter, 10 live in the gravel, and this nitrifying bactera is essential to the process. Just syphon water out... dont clean the gravel or filter for at least a few months......

amanda_
07-23-2007, 07:29 PM
You don't have enough biological bacteria right now. If you want to speed up the process, go to an aquarium store and ask for a clipping from their filter floss. I did that and my tank cycled in about 2 weeks. If they wont do that for you, you might be able to buy some well established substrate that you can just place in a filter bag and leave it in your aquarium for a while if there isn't enough room for it in the filter.

Migforce
07-23-2007, 07:40 PM
I have not cleaned out either the filter nor the substrate. I just siphon the water out. I haven't asked the store for the clip, but I did buy bacteria supplement that I added, but that does not seem to be working.

amanda_
07-23-2007, 07:43 PM