PDA

View Full Version : My first Pleco

Strider199
05-23-2011, 09:33 PM
After 30 plus years of keeping aquariums I have finally choosen a pleco. The 55 gallon tank has been running for a few months now with an assortment of tetras and a pair of GBR's with a Red Tailed shark. It is mainly planted with Anubius and Amazon swords (I gave up on stem plants). The tank has two filters, a HOB and a canister.

Here is my choice of pleco, Chaetostoma milesi or 187a, spotted rubber pleco. I have noticed the pleco is hanging out near the HOB intake. I guess this is because this species likes a current. I feed the general population flakes, tubiflex cubes, algae waffers and shrimp pellets. There is a bit of algae growing on my plants and a bit on the slate I have in the tank.
Being I'm new to pleco's and there are folks here with a ton of experiance, what should I feed this new addition which will make it feel at home? What veggie works well without fouling up the water?
Thanks in advance.:22:

Cliff
05-23-2011, 09:39 PM
Congrats on the new addition.

The veggies I feed mine are zucchini, cucumber, and watermelon. I think all veggies will fowl up the water if left in long enough. I only leave veggies in the tank for 12 to 18 hours. It took my plecos a while to catch on to the fact the veggies I put in the tank was actually food. Now they eat it like they have gone for months without food

I also give them the occasional algae wafers and a few large sinking pellets

Strider199
05-23-2011, 09:44 PM
Thank you Cliff for that advice. Time to raid the fridge. hehehe

Strider199
05-31-2011, 01:50 AM