PDA

View Full Version : live rock question

melanie
07-21-2007, 06:38 AM
I'm new to saltwater aquariums and have received an already established and cycled tank with a couple of clown fish a chocolate chip starfish and a few snails that the starfish is slowly eating. I want to add more live rock to the tank. It is a 10 gallon tank. How should I go about adding it? Do I need do anything special to the live rock so it will not upset the levels and such in the tank. I want to make the tank beautiful but I don't want to kill the local residents in the process. I was also contemplating adding some dead corals would it be okay or not. Thanks for your input and suggestions.

salman
07-21-2007, 06:45 AM
Are you sure its a 10 gallon?

melanie
07-21-2007, 07:47 AM
It is 40 liters, so I think it is about 10.5 gallons.

unleashed
07-21-2007, 10:38 AM
how much live rock do you already have? That should give us a start. The tank dimensions and a bit more info might help as well.

melanie
07-21-2007, 11:13 AM
I'm guessing it is about 5 pounds. The tank is 45 centimeters long x 30 wide x 30 high. The substrate is about 2 inches deep and looks like crushed coral. There are currently 2 false percula clownfish and a chocolate chip starfish and 3 snails (the starfish is in the process of eating the 4th snail.) I took in this aquarium from a coworker who moved and I didn't get much info with it.

Fishguy2727
07-21-2007, 01:27 PM
If you get pre-cured live rock theoretically it could go straight in. The safer and cheaper route is to buy uncured live rock, and cure it yourself in either a small trash can, extra tank, or rubbermaid tub. This way you will know it is cured, and then it can go into the tank. When I did the math I came up with 11.2 gallons. I would shoot for 15-20 pounds total.

TowBoater
07-21-2007, 05:38 PM