PDA

View Full Version : Hello :) im a newbie..sort of

mrslolo83
04-23-2011, 01:29 AM
Hello, im new to keeping fish. ive only had bettas in the past. about 7 months ago i was given a 33 gallon aquarium from my brother and sister in law. they gave me 6 tiger barbs along with it and unfortunately over the last 7 months one of them has picked off each of them, one by one. i couldnt bare to flush a live fish and commit fish murder lol so i bought a 1 gallon tank and gave him to my sister and my nephew named him "oscar". hes now happy and living by himself. i cleaned and cycled my tank and waited a week to get fish. lastnight we went to petsmart and i asked for 3 red wag platies, i wanted 2 females and 1 male, but when i got home i realized she gave me 2 males and 1 female. so today we stopped at another petsmart for an algae eater and i ended up buying 3 more female red wag platies (so there would be 2 for each male lol) and i also got 3 black mollies, 2 female and one male, and a chinese algae eater (unknown gender). i think one of the red wag platies i got today are pregnant and one of the black molly females is too, they both have big bellies. i bought some live plant bulbs from walmart and dropped those in the tank after i got done cleaning it a week ago, they are sprouting up really good. i would love to either get some java fern or hornwart live plants but im nervous about live plants, although these bulb plants are growing already after a week lol.