PDA

View Full Version : Setting Up My First Planted Tank

Keratella
04-18-2011, 04:53 AM
Hi, this is my first post. I've been a lurker for a while though. I'm new to the hobby and have a 29 gallon tank that is two months old.

I'm looking to set up a planted aquarium (Freshwater).

The tank is nothing special. A Wallmart generic thing with a nice wooden stand. I am a little overstocked at the moment with 6 Danios, 6 Tiger Barbs and a Rainbow Shark. Everyone is smaller than max size but The Danios will be relocating fairly soon.

I have a couple of questions and a challenge for anyone that thinks it can be done. From my research I suspect I will be considered crazy but hey, it's worth asking if anyone is feeling creative.

The tank came with a hood. One of those hoods you would expect with a all-in-one tank. I'm sure the light is inadequate for growing anything but algae.

The challenge is this.: I quite like the hood that's already in the tank. The light fixture is about 30" x 5". Can I somehow (I'm willing to put tools to use to achieve this) cram enough light in there to grow some low light plants?, And if anyone can make it better than low light that would be awesome If so what kind of lights would be the best? I would prefer to avoid co2 but am willing to go DIY.

Either way. with the best light possible I am looking to have an aquarium that looks something like this:
1. Some kind of ground cover at the front, I've heard Java Moss is easy but am up for anything that looks great
2. Some limestone rocks filled with caverns in the middle (this was easy and already taken care of),
3. And finally some bushy tall background plants that hide all the tubes and filter stuff in the back

If this is possible and if can get two scenarios that would be awesome. Scenario 1 is that money is not really an object and scenario 2 is that I would be looking to pay no more than $250ish for the everything.