PDA

View Full Version : Identification help.

Drumachine09
07-18-2007, 03:13 AM
I was at the LFS yesterday with one of my friends, when i saw this little peice of LR, no bigger than a baseball, with what i was told was a feather duster. I had the lady weigh it up. It came up to about .25 lbs, and she told me i could just have it. Im not exactly sure what it is, but hopefully, someone here can help me.

salman
07-18-2007, 03:25 AM
Looks amazing, i have no experience with salt water what so ever! All i can say it 'it' looks amazing!

kkyyllee
07-18-2007, 03:56 AM
aptaisia, kill the b***** before it multiplys

Drumachine09
07-18-2007, 03:59 AM
aptaisia, kill the b***** before it multiplys

Awww crap, it looked soo cool too.

If it multipys, what does it do? Will it kill my fish/corals?

kkyyllee
07-18-2007, 04:11 AM
it will sting or smother all the corals around it and they multiply fast

Rue
07-18-2007, 04:15 AM
I think Kyle is right...Aiptasia...one of the major SW tank pests...

They're very prolific...and will kill fish and corals...

DO NOT try and rip it off...any left over pieces have amazing regrowth from what I've read...

Unless you can do it out of the tank and then scrape where the polyp base was attached? Nothing wrong with the rock of course.

Not an emergency by any means...you can enjoy it for a while...just keep an eye out on it and be prepared to remove it when you need to...

I'm VERY surprised that they gave you a pest though! :hmm3grin2orange:

Rue
07-18-2007, 04:17 AM
LOL...posted at the same time...but I'm on stupid dial-up...:c4:

Drumachine09
07-18-2007, 04:27 AM
Yea, the new guy there told me it was a feather duster. I compared it to the large feather dusters in the tank above that one, and they looked simmaler, so i thought, hey, free coral. Guess he doenst know much now does he.

I entered that pic in the POTM contest anyway, lol.

Thanks for the help guys!

Drumachine09
07-18-2007, 05:15 AM