PDA

View Full Version : New to Shrimp

Strider199
04-10-2011, 09:04 PM
I posted this thread in Tank set-up,

http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=76930

But since this is my first attempt at an invertebrate tank I thought that maybe I could get some feedback from the experts.

I haven't started putting the substrate in yet as the driftwood is still boiling on the stove. I will appriciate any tips and/or hints for the succesfull launch of this 10 gallon shrimp tank.

Stlouisfish
04-11-2011, 04:40 PM
What kinds of shrimp did you have in mind? Some are "filter feeders" and need an established tank to feed from, others feed off of some kind of algae or leftover food.

Strider199
04-11-2011, 11:38 PM
Thats the kind of info I'm looking for andreahp. I have my eye on some Red Cherry Shrimp (Neocaridina Heteropoda var. Red), to start with. Reading about them it seems this is a hardy species which can tolerate a wide range of pH and hardness, eats almost anything from blanched spinach, zucchini, algae wafers, shrimp pellets, fish flakes, and bloodworms.
If the RCS is a success I was looking a Red crystal shrimp and the blue variety as well.
There are some mini orange Mexican Lobsters in that tank as well at $30. a pop. I haven't looked them up to see what requirements they have or their temperment yet. Anyone have any experiance with these?

Brhino
04-11-2011, 11:43 PM
RCS are indeed good starter shrimp. I've got a tank full of them.

I haven't seen the exact phrase "mini orange Mexican Lobster" before, but "Lobster" almost always means "crayfish" when you're talking about freshwater critters. A crayfish will treat a tank full of RCS (or other similar shrimp) like you or I would treat a bag of doritos.

Strider199
04-11-2011, 11:48 PM