PDA

View Full Version : New 75G Planted Tank - Overstock / Filtration questions

zfarsh
04-01-2011, 04:42 AM
Hi All, I am new to aquariums, though i have had many small aquariums in my life and taken care of Goldfish and Turtles, but never with any technologies such as filters, etc... So i would be doing water changes very often in my youth. That said, i am runing a small tank with HOB Filter, plants, fish, sand.

I want to buy a 75 G Tank, I can fit this in my Room, and it doesnt seem too high that i cant reach all that i want when comparing it to a 90G. Now I need serious help / criticism, i have never ventured in such a big tank, and i can really use the experience of pll doing this for a while. Pls help me where you can, as i know each setup is different, and one cannot know all the answers.

Desired Aquarium Setup:
75G Tank, 1 x 2217 Euheim Classic Canister with Sponge media / mechanical only, Black Sand, 6500K light fluorescent but on a open tank. Water Change every week of ~20%.
Desired Plants: Java Fern, Java Moss, Anubias, Hornwort, Duckweed, etc... (chosen for low light / not easily eaten plants by Goldfish and not much heat). Also, some plants that have their root in water but body on top, such as Lucky Bamboo and Pothos
Desired Fishes in order of importance
#1) 5 - 6 Fancy Goldfish
#2) 2 3 BristleNose / Bushy Nose Plecos
#3) 1 3 Dojo Loach
#4) 2 5 male guppies
Questions:
1)Am I way overstocking this tank? If so, pls make suggestions so I can have at least 5 Fancy, 2 plecos, and some dojo (s), and keep my 2 existing guppies. I prefer not to go to a 90 gallon tank as it simply adds height to the tank, thus making it harder to access the bottom for me. If i have to do two water changes per week, then so be it...