PDA

View Full Version : Fiddler crabs and brackish water?

chchch113
03-24-2011, 12:45 AM
Hi, my name is Cody and im a newbie to the forum.
I'm probably gonna be getting about 5 fiddlers and I've done some research on there habitat and the food and water needs. But im confused with the water needs.
I've read the need water with salt,table salt, kosher salt, marine salt, sea salt and im confused on how to and what to do for the water for a 10gallon tank.
Please help me im confused :s.
Sincerely,
Cody.H :)

Cermet
03-24-2011, 01:09 AM
I've read the need water with salt,table salt, kosher salt, marine salt, sea salt

These are marine creatures so that is the type of salt to use. Table salt has anti-caking agents and shouldn't be used for any fish type; kosher salt is used for fresh water fish as a treatment - not for marine fish. Sea salt is marine salt as far as I know.

Just go to the LFS and ask what salt - they will stock the right type (you'll also need a device to measure specific gravity, I would guess.) After finding out the type, you could order on line to save $ later. Good luck :hmm3grin2orange:

rageybug
03-24-2011, 01:26 AM
Hi Cody and welcome to the AC.