PDA

View Full Version : Holes In Leaves - Help

TypeYourTextHere
03-22-2011, 12:32 AM
I just noticed that i have huge holes in most the leaves in my plants.
I know I have read why this is happening, but I can't find it again. I have not done a WC yet.

Here are my readings:

Ammonia - .25
Nitrites - 2.0
Nitrates - ~ 60

Edit: still cycling with fish.

http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/images/attach/jpg.gif

AbbeyRanda
03-23-2011, 02:53 AM
Let me preface this with--I am still a noob at the planted tank! However, I had this problem myself recently, and my understanding is it's a postassium deficiency problem. Does that sound right?

TypeYourTextHere
03-23-2011, 02:56 AM
Let me preface this with--I am still a noob at the planted tank! However, I had this problem myself recently, and my understanding is it's a postassium deficiency problem. Does that sound right?

Honestly i have no clue. I did however notice my platys Munching on the few plants that i do have, so i am not sure anymore.
How do i check the potassium levels?

Brhino
03-23-2011, 02:57 AM
Nutrient deficiencies can cause holes in plants (not sure what exactly, I too am not that schooled in the science of planted tanks), but the first thing I thought when I saw those is that something's eating them. What fish and invertebrates do you have in the tank?

AbbeyRanda
03-23-2011, 03:00 AM
Just checked the Caring for your plants:Nutrition sticky-- I was right! :11:
Potassium deficiency can indeed cause holes.

TypeYourTextHere
03-23-2011, 03:00 AM
What fish and invertebrates do you have in the tank?

I have

4 - Platys
4 - Tetras
1 - Pleco
1 - Betta

AbbeyRanda
03-23-2011, 03:06 AM
Honestly i have no clue. I did however notice my platys Munching on the few plants that i do have, so i am not sure anymore.
How do i check the potassium levels?