PDA

View Full Version : New and a bit irritated (lol)

ArkD'Julie
03-19-2011, 11:25 PM
Hi everyone! I'm fairly new to keeping fish and recently upsized the tank for my betta, neons, & cories.

I was going to sell my smaller tank but thought I'd get a couple goldfish for it. Now, I was thinking from my childhood days of the goldfish that stay only a couple inches long.... I guess the feeder goldfish?

Anyway, got 4 fish at the shop and 2 different people who helped me there said 3 to 5 fish should be ok for a 10 gallon...... except that the goldfish being referred to were the fancy ones. Hmm. My fault for not knowing what I was getting & how big they'd get, but they should have known better than to tell me 4 would be ok for 10 gal.

So now I have my 4 fish and after a bit of reading up on the fancy types of goldfish I'm quite disheartened finding out how big they get and how much more room they will need! I'll do the right thing by either getting a much larger tank (husband will LOVE this... not) or finding other homes.

I keep my tanks very clean and hopefully they will be happy until they start to get too big. How big would be too big for them to be in a 10 gal? Should they be moved right away, or do they have a bit of time still where the 10 gal would be ok?

So disappointed.

Julie

ArkD'Julie
03-19-2011, 11:33 PM
I just wanted to add that I'm considering building a little pond in my yard for these guys when they get a bit bigger. Something I need to research. But, actually a fun project for me as I love my yard and spending a lot of time out there. :)

jessfish
03-19-2011, 11:35 PM
If they are small they will be ok in the 10 on a temporary basis.

The best thing to do is either take a few back, or get a bigger tank soon.

A good tip though since they are in there & you are still deciding what to do is watch their behaviour & check the water paramaters.