PDA

View Full Version : planting in light substrate



Brhino
03-09-2011, 10:59 PM
my last planted tank was sand. I stuck plants in it, and they stayed. However, now I've got the aquariumplants.com substrate, which is much lighter. I didn't have any issues initially planting plants with developed root systems to hold them down, but yesterday I cut some anacharis/elodea stems that were getting super long, and tried sticking the stems in the substrate. They didn't hold, they've all floated free. Anyone have any tips for keeping them down?

Lady Hobbs
03-09-2011, 11:50 PM
Might try placing some small stores around the base. I use this substrate exclusively even in none planted tanks. Heck, it's cheaper than gravel and ready to plant if I get in the mood.

I have no problems keeping stem plants in it but perhaps your substrate hasn't gotten good and water soaked yet or bottom feeders are pulling the stems up?

SunSchein89
03-10-2011, 01:09 AM
I just threw a few pebbles around my stem plants that would stay down. Eventually they'll root in and you can remove them if you please. Seemed to be the easiest thing to do.