PDA

View Full Version : Need advice with plants

Ticklemekevin10
02-17-2011, 04:34 AM
hey guys, ive been running co2 in my tank for a few weeks now. my narrow java ferns have always had these little tiny holes along with browning. do i need to trim them all or should i be dosing with something? also my new vals are turning transparent and so are my floating pennywort. my new swrod has some brownish yellow spots on them now too.

Im pretty new to plants still so any help would be GREATLY appreciated!

do it for the kids! haha

rich311k
02-17-2011, 11:46 AM
How much light do you have? Are you adding ferts at all? What type of CO2 are you using?

gm72
02-17-2011, 11:53 AM
Sounds like a lack of light and/or nutrients but as suggested we do need to know how your tank is set up to properly diagnose the situation.

Ticklemekevin10
02-17-2011, 03:27 PM
Sorry, it is low light. I was using aqueon plant food but ran out. I want to get some flourish but wanted to find out what kind I should get first...

Ticklemekevin10
02-17-2011, 03:33 PM
And co2 is diy yeast about 1 bubble every 2 seconds

Adrian
02-17-2011, 03:40 PM
By low light, are you using incandscent or flourescent? Also, without proper lighting, co2 really isn't needed. Upwards of 3 watts per gallon, then the use of co2 can be beneficial.

Also, with co2 yeast systems, you may have lowered your ph in the tank, depending on the size of the tank, as co2 turns into an acid. I would up your lighting first, then worry about co2 later.

Flourish is a good supplement. How long has your tank been running? What type of substrate do you have, all these things factor in with live plants.

Ticklemekevin10
02-17-2011, 04:35 PM