PDA

View Full Version : Dead shrimp...what am I doing wrong?

AbbeyRanda
02-12-2011, 06:22 PM
Let me preface this with: I am TOTALLY new to the shrimp game, this is my first experience with them.

So as I mentioned on another thread, I have... or rather had some 3 mandarin shrimp (not the chinese dish, the little orange FW shrimp).

I got them on 2/3, a little over a week ago, delivered by mail from Drs. F & S live aquaria site. They were delivered @ about 2pm, and I brought them in immediately (or my DH did), but I had to wait until 8pm that night to introduce them to the tank (the F&S customer service lady assured me that shouldn't be a problem. They happily went to work on my drifwood, picking of algae with thier little mitts and stuffing it into their mouthparts.

Two days ago I searched and searched in the tank and could oly find two of the 3 shrimp. Thinking that one was hiding in the Java Fern (as he was wont to do), I was unconcerned.

Yesterday however, I saw a clear/white, limp shrimp shape attached to the stems of my anubis and fished it out with my net. Gross as it may sound, I pulled it apart to see if I could determine whether or not it was a molt or a dead shrimp. It was a little gooey inside so I suspected dead shrimp. Then, I did my regularly schedule water change and found a second carcass, confirming my theory that two of my shrimp had died. I found the third one yesterday, but he's nowhere to be found today and is presumed dead as well.

I tested my parameters after my change and they were fairly normal (0 Nitrites, 10ppm nitrates, ammonia trace to .25ppm). My pH is kind of high (7.6), but at least it is steady. This morning I rechecked and it was totally normal (0 nitrite, 0 ammo, 10 nitrate, still 7.6pH)

Can someone tell me what I'm missing for keeping shrimp alive?

I'm kind of disappointed, I had already named them all Zoidberg...

Strider199
02-12-2011, 11:28 PM