PDA

View Full Version : sick betta question?

malkin71
02-09-2011, 02:31 AM
i am new to keeping fish i have a betta ..my girlfriend thoguht it would be a good pet for our young son...think we had him for a month in what i believe to be a half gallon tank..i change his water once a week..then i think he got over fed and his water got nasty quick like from sunday to wednesday i noticed it and he looked like he had some kind of greenish yellow philm heavily around his head and got spead out toward his back i havnt got a good picture yet...i have recently got a 1 gallon tank for free froma friend bought a heater used some water conditioner which i didnt know about before used an ick treatment and fungal treatment aquarium salt..he stays toward the top of the water alot and it looks maybe a little better having a hard time telling..

malkin71
02-09-2011, 03:26 AM
i uploaded a pic to the gallery but you cant see the philm

Brhino
02-09-2011, 04:38 AM
Your description matches the disease called Velvet. I don't have any personal experience in fighting it, but here's a thread from one of our experts about it:
http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=41178
scroll down to the second half of the second post for the section on Velvet.

The source of the problem is that you have underestimated the care requirements of a betta (or any fish for that matter). This happens frequently to people keeping fish for the first time, and unfortunately, disease and death are often the result. The betta needs a bigger environment, a heater (which you now have), and a filter that has been 'cycled'. For the time being, I recommend moving the betta into the 1 gallon tank and doing daily 50% water changes (make sure you use that water conditioner every time). If someone else can confirm the fish has velvet you can get a medication to treat that.