PDA

View Full Version : Feeding question

farmmom
02-03-2011, 04:55 PM
I'm very new to aquariums, so am learning as I go. I was given a 50gal with all the setup and 5 fish. One of these is a pleco that I believe is about 8" long. (When I posted oringinally I said 6", but now I've gotten a better look at him.) I bought a bag of algea wafers for him, especially since I cleaned the tank really well when I was setting in back up. I fed him 3 wafers last night. This morning, when I fed the other fish, he came up to the top and stole the cube of freezedried Tubifex worms. It was fun to watch, because he would grab it and sink back to the bottom and kind of lounge back against the side of the aquarium and suck on it then spit it out. He did this several times.

My question is, am I feeding him enough, and will the tubifex worms hurt him in any way?

skullduggery1
02-03-2011, 04:59 PM
I wouldn't worry about it.The pleco wanted some animal proteins in its diet.Try some blanched peas,shrimp pellets,zuchinni.You are doing fine,what a sight to see a pleco feeding upside down on surface foods.

Cliff
02-03-2011, 05:37 PM
I would not worry about it either. They can be little food theif at times

I would also suggest giving your pleco some veggies to supplement his normal diet of algae wafers. This is actually really good for them and will help you keep him healthy. I feed my slices of zucchini, cucumber, or watermelon 3 to 4 times a week. I just put it on a fork (to weight it down) and put it in the tank in the evening. Come morning I take out what’s left over so I doesn’t rot in the tank.

If you do try this, you might have to be patent with your pleco, It took mine quite a few tries before he realized the veggies were actual food. Now they eat almost all of the veggies I put in the tank for them.

lugnut
02-03-2011, 05:56 PM