PDA

View Full Version : Aquarium Fertilizers?

teddscau
11-28-2010, 05:40 PM
Okay, so I'm not experienced at keeping plants. My plants aren't as healthy as I'd like them to be so I was thinking of buying some fertilizers. My plants seem to have almost every mineral deficiency. I've decided to buy some root fertilizer tabs and some liquid fertilizers. I was thinking of buying some from API. I'm worried about making my fish sick though. I'm definately not getting anything with copper. Here's the fish I have: mollies, male guppies, otocinclus, cardinal tetras, glass catfish, ghost shrimp, cherry shrimp, cardinal shrimp, amano shrimp, assassin snails, and pond snails.

I'm going to be getting kuhli loaches, rams, bamboo shrimp, and cories.

Here's the plants I have: moss balls, java fern, duckweed, java moss, amazon sword, cambomba, and a very pretty plant (no idea what it is, but I love it!).

I'm going to eventually get some more plants.

What fertilizers should I get? My plants are growing slowly, some are pale, some are abnormally dark green, some have a bit of yellow on their leaves, and my sword's leaves keep breaking off. My java moss and camboma are doing well though.

dbosman
11-28-2010, 06:45 PM
The simplest solution would be root tabs for the high nutrient plants, like the swords. Poke some near the stem plants as well. It's hard to over dose with root fertilizers. Jobe's fertilizer spikes for Ferns & Palms (lower phosphorus) should run less than $3.00 a package. Use 1/3 tab per plant cluster and three of the 1/3 sticks around each sword.

For a serious plant enthusiasts $19.99 and shipping will get you all the fertilizer you need, probably for a couple of years. But... you will need high lighting and carbon.

http://www.greenleafaquariums.com/aquarium-fertilizer.html
Green Fertilizer Package
* The complete fertilizer package for aquarium plants - micro and macronutrients.
* The three major macronutrients NPK and Plantex CSM+B (micronutrients). $19.99