PDA

View Full Version : How expensive is it to have CO2 in aquarium?

kurly
10-15-2010, 08:50 PM
I am looking at the plants in my aquarium and would really like my plants to look healthier and greener. I have never used a CO2 system before because honestly, it just seems so confusing to me and possibly too expensive. Could someone please give me a little advice? :help:

Thanks

WhiteDevil
10-15-2010, 09:32 PM
for which tank? I use a DIY on my 52 with outstanding results, and use pressurized on my 210. Pressurized system ran me just over 400 bucks with two brand new 5# tanks. Around me it costs 15 bucks to fill the tank each time.

It all really depends on what you want to spend. I got my pressurized system from aquariumplants.com, it runs flawlessly. I also use their powered m5000 reactor. Ive had nothing but great experiences with them, even troubleshooting when i first got it for hours to follow up calls months later to check on things and make sure I am happy. Im sure others will disagree but its the only thing I have to go on.

My DIY lasts 5-6 weeks and costs me next to nothing to do.

Wild Turkey
10-15-2010, 10:19 PM
You got me wondering so I did the math for the most expensive ingredient by far, sugar. Its certainly not exact, but i came up with approximately $1.68 worth of sugar per month for this setup:

2 bottles
replacing every 2 weeks
2 cups of sugar in the recipe per bottle
paying 50cents/lb. for sugar

Accordingly, if you buy a little 5 lb bag of sugar the cost would be about double, or if you use one bottle it would about half etc etc.

White Devil, what recipe are you using thats lasting 5-6 weeks?

kurly
10-15-2010, 10:32 PM
I am thinking about CO2 for my 65 gallon tank. It's in the Family Room and is seen by everyone so I want the plants to look better. I see picutres of other tanks and just love how green the plants look. But $400 bucks is more than I can spend so looks like I'll have to be satisfied with how my plants look for now.

WhiteDevil