PDA

View Full Version : Mandarin fish and Lion fish

oni19
06-20-2007, 07:40 AM
Hi, I'm sure you've all heard this before but I am new to the world of aquariums and I've never been on a forum before, so please help me out if I bugger it up! :)

Now my problem is I have a tank that is very small (don't know what size). I bought it as a 'deal' December last year with live rock and 2 seahorses. I have since lost the two seahorses and was told that a mandarin fish would be perfectly fine in the tiny tank. Its only since I started researching a possible companion for the mandarin fish that I have found out the people who sold it to me don't seem to know their stuff! Firstly, the tank should have been established for at least 6 months, requires heaps of live rock which would require a far bigger tank, etc.etc. I have learnt my lesson and haven't stopped researching since!

Now I feel terrible for my starving mandarin fish! He has been eating brine shrimp but needs something more nutritional if he's to survive. A friend has a perfect tank for him with heaps of live rock and plenty of copepods for him to feed on!!! BUT there's a huge lionfish in the tank and I don't want Tornado to be eaten! Does anyone know if they can live together? Apparently the membrane on the Tornado (mandarin fish) is poisonous which I would think could keep Graeme (lionfish) away, but I don't want to risk losing both fish if it doesn't!

Drumachine09
06-20-2007, 04:56 PM
Unless you plan on constantly adding cocepods, you will need to transport him to a bigger tank. He has probobly allready exhausted your tank of his food.

As long as there are plenty places for the mandrin to hide, you could give it a shot.

2manyfish
06-20-2007, 05:37 PM
You have two choices. Starting with the first.....