PDA

View Full Version : New To Planting ( advice wanted )

BiGBlak
09-10-2010, 04:31 AM
Im new to planting and i have close to no idea of what im doing .

-My tank is still cycling with a air stone and the water temp is close to 90 degrees.
-The lighting is 96w 6700k bulbs.

So far the plants i have in the tank are
-2 pots of Swords ( ID Plz)
-3 small java fern
-Moss Ball
-Clump of Java Moss

The substrate is black Tahitian moon sand with some seachem fluorite tabs spread threw out the tank . Im not using any ferts for the fact that i think it may mess up my readings of my perimeters a few of my swords are not in good shape but i didnt pay full price for them and i have the moss in the breeder thing because i didnt have anything to try and tie it down with ...

Tell me what you think and suggestions .
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mXnN303GBos

mommy1
09-10-2010, 04:42 AM
i am very much a plant noob so will leave that to someone else.

the temp in your tank is too high for cycling. nitrifying bacteria grow best in the mid 70's, 77 being optimal. at higher temps the lack of dissolved oxygen in the water will slow down reproduction to the point of the bacteria dying.

BiGBlak
09-10-2010, 04:48 AM
i am very much a plant noob so will leave that to someone else.

the temp in your tank is too high for cycling. nitrifying bacteria grow best in the mid 70's, 77 being optimal. at higher temps the lack of dissolved oxygen in the water will slow down reproduction to the point of the bacteria dying.
just turned the heat down and opend the window since the tankis right near it . i thought the higher the better grow rate of bateria but i guess not ...

mommy1
09-10-2010, 04:51 AM
here is a link to some good info on the nitrifying bacteria.

http://www.bioconlabs.com/nitribactfacts.html

BiGBlak
09-10-2010, 04:59 AM
here is a link to some good info on the nitrifying bacteria.

http://www.bioconlabs.com/nitribactfacts.html