PDA

View Full Version : Neon's not eating

Think
06-11-2007, 06:30 PM
Hey guys,

I'm new to the world of aquariums and this past weekend I bought a 20 gallon long tank and 5 neon tetras. They have been happily schooling, hiding behind rocks, etc... But when it comes feeding time, they don't even notice the food and they are scared of my hand, so they hide. I am feeding them Wardley Tropical Flakes. A few of them have eaten the flakes that sunk, but they won't touch floating flakes. Perhaps it is the food, but aren't these guys supposed to eat anything small quite well. I read somewhere to feed them twice daily, and I have been trying to get them to eat at morning and night under good light, but no such luck.

My current setup is a 20L tank with a Aquaclear 30 power filter with BioMax, I have a Hydor heater at 78*. The tank is always the perfect temperature.

As of right now, they are schooling on the bottom of the tank... which is also strange according to what I've heard. They seem energetic and happy and they all swim well... What's up with my fish!!!

Mark Lathrop
06-11-2007, 06:55 PM
Get some semi-sinking pellet type foods. They make some especially for the mid-tank swimmers like the neons.

You mentioned having a newer tank. Have you cycled it yet?

troy
06-11-2007, 08:04 PM
they're either stressed or just getting used to the tank.

NeonJulie
06-11-2007, 09:16 PM
Neons are notoriously sensitive fish now, in most cases. At one point there were hardy, but most people agree too much breeding has taken it's toll.

We're really missing a lot of information here, so I'll just cover some bases.

*Your neons could be ill from the fish store.

*Your neons could be suffering from high Ammonia or NitrIte levels. What are these parameters?

*Your neons could be stressed from the stress of purchase and acclimation, if the acclimation was not carried out slowly enough.