PDA

View Full Version : Plant Suggestions for Low Light with CO2 & Ferts?

Distants
08-04-2010, 08:09 PM
I have a 20 gallon tall waiting to be setup that I want to plant. I'm fairly new to planted aquariums, so I'm looking for some suggestions and any advice anyone might have. I have basically everything ready, except a "plant plan". The tank has two 15 watt 6500K compact fluorescent bulbs Life-Glo I believe, so 1.4 Watts/G, and about 25 pounds of white aqaurium gravel, so about 1.5-2 inches deep. I will be using DIY CO2, Flourish Comp, Potassium, Iron, Flourish root tabs and equilibrium to raise gh. The fish I will be putting in are 1 clown pleco, around 8 show guppies, and once established 3 or so otos. I also have two pieces of driftwood and a small rock cave. The important water parameters in my current tank with driftwood and CO2 are as follows and I figure this new tank will be similar;
KH 2.5
GH 2, will be raised by equilibrium
Nitrate 5
PH stablized at 6.4
Temp 72-80 depending on the season

Current plant stock:
Clippings from Cabomba
Clippings from Magenta Rotala

I have heard many people say that under low light with CO2 and nutrients, you can grow almost anything, however I think the lower PH may limit my choices if I am correct? So any suggestions of plants that will live in a lower PH? Keep in mind I have a stock hood, so any plants going in front will get much less light and I do not want to have to trim plants back every three days, so anything like duckweed and the sort is out of the question. I'm also not too fond of mosses as I like to see my substrate. :D

I also have a few questions..
I recall someone saying that you cannot dose certain ferts on the same day or they will bind? Which are these? Should I only dose trace + micro after water change? Potassium once or twice a week? And how often for iron, some say everyday?

Sorry for all the questions, but I just want to get everything straight beforehand, so I don't waste hundreds of dollars. :D