PDA

View Full Version : Java Fern questing



souly
08-04-2010, 04:36 PM
I have my java ferns in my substrate, would it better to pull them and mount them to my rocks?

Cliff
08-04-2010, 04:39 PM
I've had really good success attaching my Java fern to roaks and drift wood.

I tried it planted once and they died on me. From what I was able to research, Java fern will do better not being planted in the substrate

troy
08-04-2010, 04:40 PM
As long as the rhizome is not buried they'll be fine.

Rue
08-04-2010, 04:59 PM
Personally I think it does better on driftwood...but if you can find a nubbly enough rock, it should be fine too...

souly
08-04-2010, 05:18 PM
My Java ferns seem to be doing alright though in the substrate..I'll probably mount them to driftwood when I get my new tank setup.

CGY_Betta_Guy
08-04-2010, 06:51 PM
I have tied my java ferns to driftwood and also to small golf ball size chunks of lava rock and wrap the roots around it. After they grow enough they will grab onto the rock and you wont be able to see the rock itself. You then you have an easily moveable plant.

MitchTBF
08-31-2010, 04:19 PM
I like that idea. So you would tie the plant to the driftwood with some thread or fishing line ?
Mitch

rich311k
08-31-2010, 07:13 PM
Either will work. I use cotton thread since it will rot overtome. Usually by the time it has rotted the plant is firmly attached.

DrNic
08-31-2010, 08:27 PM
Either will work. I use cotton thread since it will rot overtome. Usually by the time it has rotted the plant is firmly attached.
That's a great idea. Did you have any problem with the fish eating the thread?

I've grown java ferns on decor and in gravel with equal success. Either works IMO.

rich311k
08-31-2010, 10:38 PM
No never had a fish try and eat it. The cat yes, but never a fish.

smaug
08-31-2010, 11:08 PM
use fine black or dark green cotton thread.It is virtually invisible.Java ferns do better with there roots in the water column because the nutrients they use are mostly in the water and better captured when the roots are free,same for all rhizome plants really.