PDA

View Full Version : Mom was right - sometimes life isn't fair.

Brhino
07-28-2010, 07:24 PM
A mostly pointless rant.

I've been keeping fish for seven months now and I've been a member of these forums for the last five. Obviously, my experience is very limited, but I still try to help people even newer than me when they have problems. I'm able to do this because of my obsessive interest in reading all about everything related to the hobby and a good memory for things I've seen and read. I can't tell someone how to get their bolivian rams to spawn or what kind of deficiency their amazon swords are experiencing, but I understand all the newbie mistakes and their solutions.

Every time I read someone's thread that's a variation of "Help! My six goldfish in my five gallon tank are not doing well!", I took pride in the knowledge that I was doing things the "right" way with my goldfish. I got them a large tank that would accommodate even their full-grown adult sizes. I used proper filtration and maintenance routines. I paid attention to their diet. I constantly asked for criticism and suggestions for improvement. While people all over the world would be shrugging their shoulders and replacing dead goldfish every few months or years because they didn't know or didn't care about the proper way to care for them, my fish were going to grow large and become old because I wasn't like those people.

And then one of my goldfish got sick.