PDA

View Full Version : Help Me Out?

octoxpuss
07-14-2010, 07:19 PM
I bought a coralife f/w t-5 aqualite that has 2 18 lights of 6700k. What type of plants would grow with this light on a 29 gallon. Please help me out. Also i was wondering if i was able to switch out for higher watts by just changing the bulbs. I am not good with the lighting department so please coreect me if i would start a fire. :D

little hawaii
07-14-2010, 07:24 PM
You could change to higher wattage but I would try what you have first. I think you will be fine with what you have though. I use some t-5s. with great results.

octoxpuss
07-14-2010, 07:25 PM
Could you help me out with types of plants i could do?

rich311k
07-14-2010, 07:29 PM
You cant change bulbs to get more power, does not work that way.

As for plants: vals, crypts, anubia, java ferns, mosses. many choices.

octoxpuss
07-14-2010, 07:31 PM
What about carpet making plants. Ok, thanks for clarifying rich about the chainging bulbs thing. I lied only one bulb is 6700k apparently

Brhino
07-14-2010, 07:31 PM
you should be okay with most "beginner" plants that are stated to grow in low light. Check out Lady Hobbs' stick on the subject (http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/aquariumforum/showthread.php?t=4074) and do a bit of research on the names there. I have the same fixture and the same size tank as you, and I'm growing java moss, java ferns, anubias, and elodea, and I'm about to try my hand at some water sprite and water wisteria.

No, you cannot put higher wattage bulbs in the fixture and get more light. The fixture will only put out the power is it rated for.

little hawaii
07-14-2010, 07:34 PM
I don't agree, they make 10,000 k T-5s that would work to replace the 6500 k it came with. But I think you are fine with what you have.

octoxpuss
07-14-2010, 07:35 PM