PDA

View Full Version : neon disaster

tetrastetrastetras
06-06-2007, 07:42 AM
hi everyone, new here but love reading about fish. i'm a relative newbie but i used to lurk here for info on setting up my aquarium. my current setup (40gal) has been running for a year or so now, its tropical with some plants, rocks, driftwood, TopFin Power filter 60, airstone with pump and 2 light tubes, Flora-Glo and Aqua Glo, both hagen i believe.

anyways i've had 4 red eyed tetras and neon tetras in teh tank since it's inception, and some Algae eaters, and a pimelodus pictus catfish. recently i picked up a couple neon tetras to form a group but these past few days i've been missing more and more neon tetras. you probably guessed it, the pictus catfish ate around 8 of them whole over a span of 3 days.

At first i was really confused but after reseraching tonight i realised that the pictus was a big mistake with this community. anyways, the point is i hope nobody picks a pictus to go with their neon tetra tank... it is a lot of trouble.

I think i'm going to return the pictus to petsmart and get some more neon tetras... I really dislike having fish that eat other fish, it's not fun when you wake up and more fish are missing.

Can anyone make a recommendation on what other fish i could add to my community safely? i prefer colours and movement, and i'm planning to increase the plants density as soon as i'm able. I just dont' want bad advice from my friend again and get half my fish killed for no good reason. thanks for listening to me rant

Lady Hobbs
06-06-2007, 01:51 PM
I would prefer the neons as well. I love those colorful little guys and they're some of my favorites. You can have a lot of nice fish in that tank. Rasbora's are another favorite of mine. Stay small and always moving. I also have some long-finned danio's I like a lot. (I hate zerba's) You could get a few gourami's as well and a group of cory-cats for the bottom.