PDA

View Full Version : How much ammonia to add to my tank?

wildbills 72 gallon
07-04-2010, 05:12 PM
How much ammonia do I need to add for my 72 gal to start cycling guys? thanks

ohmikeosh
07-04-2010, 05:31 PM
3-5 ppm ammonia is what is recommended, but it depends on your stocking plans. I cycle my tanks at 2ppm, but I will also stock lightly and add slowly. If your looking to fully stock the tank right away then or stock with fish that produce a big bioload then go 5ish, but if your stocking lightly go 3 or so. When I tried mine at 5 ppm the ammonia didnt move for over a month, when I tried it at 2ppm my cycle started in less than a week. I am pretty new to this but that is what worked for me. Too much ammonia can stall a cycle.

Cliff
07-04-2010, 05:47 PM
If you are useing liquid ammoina then start by adding a small amount around 5 to 10 ml (about the same amount of liquid you need in a test kit tube). Then wait an hour and test your ammoina levels. Repeat (if required) until your levels are around 3 to 4 ppm.

That process has worked for me.

ILuvMyGoldBarb
07-04-2010, 05:53 PM
I generally use a medicine dropper and add 1 drop for every 2 gallons of tank volume. I started by doing that every other day until I started to see the drop in ammonia and then I would do that every day.

ybmarmot
07-05-2010, 02:42 AM
I added 5ml of ammonia (12% solution) to a 55g tank to do a fishless cycle and it tested a little above 5ppm. So be careful. Next time I'll start with 3ml of ammonia.

Lady Hobbs
07-05-2010, 01:49 PM