PDA

View Full Version : Calling all plant experts....Please weigh in?

tanks4thememories
06-23-2010, 12:36 AM
I am working on a plant/Lighting article for my blog. Typically I would just research the issue then weigh it against my own experiences. However with plants and lighting I have a problem...I'm a noob...lol It has been so long since I have kept plants and even then it was just the basics. So you can see my problem. As I evaluate the research I have no litmus to match it against except common sense and the authors "opinions". Here is what I'm looking for. I need any general rules or guide's ("Rule of thumb" - ever since I learned where that phrase comes from I don't like it...lol) that you may follow and whenever possible please provide any links you may have to support your guide. It is really a very light treatment of the topic, I am just working on a list of the best guides for now. So any constructive information you may have on general guides you may like or follow regarding lighting (Lumens) and plants is most welcome and appreciated. Hopefully we will all be rewarded with yet another good link to help others get started down the road to a successful planted aquarium. Also feel free as always to comment on the guides others may post however please keep it constructive and respectful.

Thanx:22:

ILuvMyGoldBarb
06-23-2010, 01:44 AM
http://www.aquaticcommunity.com/plants/balanced.php

PostalPenguin
06-23-2010, 01:49 AM
I think one thing important I've learned is that the whole WPG is nearly useless unless you are dealing with T8 or T12 bulbs.

If you have T5 or T5HO the normal WPG chart is completely useless.

Another thing, CO2 is your best friend.

tanks4thememories
06-23-2010, 03:06 AM
Thanx guys:22: . Keep em commong plzthumbs2:

DrNic
06-23-2010, 01:53 PM