PDA

View Full Version : Red Tiger Lotus bulbs question

domjd05
06-17-2010, 02:20 AM
My red tiger lotus bulb has taken a beating since the addition of my pressurized co2 system.. I'm guessing it was the initial ph swings thats caused the die-off...

Anyway, I got the bulb from aquariumplants.com, and on the site, one of the user reviews of the plant states that if you "remove the plant from the bulb, the bulb will regrow another plant, I have four of these plants that have all come from the same bulb"... I'm a newbie to plants really.. is this true?

If so, how do you do it? do you pull the plant out of the bulb? or cut it as close as you can to the bulb? I'd really like to try and get another one growing.. because out of 3 that I bought (5 bucks a piece)this is the only one that is actually red that is shown in the pictures.. they other two are a dull green/brown and not very attractive.

kennedpa
06-17-2010, 04:59 AM
Not sure I would blame your CO2 or the said PH swing unless it is an extreme swing, either way CO2 will not cause havoc with plants not matter what type they are....its just like saying o2 will kill ur fish :-O. A friend had issues with his lotus, it died off and then small leaves would sprout and then die off. Cause ws that nice looking black substrate...looks good but some plants do not go for it. I told him to take out some of the black gravel/sand...whatever it is but its really fine, my conclusion was that it was chopping up the roots. Anyway, replaced the black with normal gravel around the area and below the plant, bingo plant is happy and he runs co2 too.

Generally I cut the plant away from the bulb, no set distance and I have even ripped the plant away from the buld with no issues.

domjd05
06-17-2010, 11:06 AM