PDA

View Full Version : ? re: inheriting two bettas who probably haven't been treated all that well

SMB
06-14-2010, 05:53 PM
Hi everyone - I'm a complete beginner and want to do this right. I've read the e-book (which is awesome!!!), but I had a specific question about the two bettas I'm taking in who may not have been properly cared for and aren't thriving?

They're currently class pets. They're in bare clear plastic "critter keepers" right now (no plants or substrate), unheated, unfiltered, etc. I haven't done a water test as we don't bring them home until tomorrow, but I've heard from the classroom teacher that they may be "sick" (their words.)

I'm ordered them each tanks with filters and heaters and substrate that's supposed to have some bacteria to help with cycling. I also ordered a bacterial additive with the good kind of bacteria. But since this happened sort of quickly, none of those have not arrived yet.

Sooo... my question: Once the fish and the equipment are all here, should I do a fishless cycle while they wait in their critter keepers? (I'd add plants at least, and anything else you tell me I should do.) Or should I move them into the heated, filtered tanks right away even though they would not be cycled? Which will help the fish the most?

I've read about acclimating so I do at least know enough not to net them in the critter keepers and plop them into their new tanks, lol!

Thank you so much in advance!! It's really nice that it's okay to ask beginner's questions here. For those of us that are intimidated by how much we don't know and need to learn, the lack of snobbery is VERY helpful. Y'all are great!!!!

Amazon
06-14-2010, 05:56 PM
bettas are extremely hardy. i would cycle it with the fish in the tank because they will be better off in your tank than that plastic critter keeper. just do water changes here and there and you should be ok.imo

SMB
06-14-2010, 05:58 PM
Thank you so much, Amazon! That is exactly what I wanted to know!! thumbs2: