PDA

View Full Version : Betta Questions

KatzeSlaugen
06-09-2010, 06:05 PM
i recently set up a 10 gal. tank for a betta i would be getting if i saw one i liked. well i fell in love with a crown tail betta the reminded me of a mustard gas betta. ill post pics once hes all settled in and comes out of hiding behind the filter.the tank is lightly planted with 1 anubias and 2 what i believe to be argentine swords from another one of my tanks. im not 100% sure thats what they are as they hit about 9 inches tall and stopped growing heightwise.

my first question is he keeps attacking his reflection in the glass. will he learn over time that he cant get to the "other betta" or will he just keep doing it?

would it be possible to keep kuhli loaches in the tank with him and if so how many would be a good number?

Kazenouta
06-09-2010, 06:12 PM
Hello, hello!
While I can't comment on the loaches, as I have no experience with them, I can say that your betta will eventually stop flaring at and biting at his reflection in the glass. My betta stopped after a few weeks

Northernguy
06-09-2010, 06:18 PM
I really can't see a problem with the loaches and a betta together.
The betta would have hard time finding the kuhlis most of the time and I don't think it would attack them.The kuhlis will not attack the betta at all.
I just thought kuhlis did better in a 20gal and up.With such a small stocking it should be fine.
http://badmanstropicalfish.com/profiles/profile28.html

KatzeSlaugen
06-09-2010, 06:23 PM
thank you for the quick responses! all i plan on having in the tank is the betta , Tony, named after Bullet Tooth Tony from the movie Snatch, and kuhli loaches if the tank size permits. i know with kuhli's the more the merrier but how many would i be able to house in a 10 gal. and have them be merry but not cramped.
the filter on the tank is an AC 30

Kazenouta
06-09-2010, 06:28 PM