PDA

View Full Version : What spectrum am I looking for?

Lindsey
06-02-2010, 10:45 PM
I'm looking at bulbs online and I have nooo idea what I'm searching for. I'm hoping to grow low light plants like anubias, java fern, moss ball, etc., but dunno what to get. I'm seeing spectrums anywhere from 6700k to 12000k, and wattage from 17-40ish.

How many watts should I look for, and what spectrum? Is it okay to get a higher spectrum/wattage even if I'm not getting more picky plants, or should I stick to low spectrum/wattage? ]

Thanks guys.. I'm completely new to this!

rich311k
06-02-2010, 10:46 PM
The wattage depends on the fixture. 6400-6700k will work well for plant growth.

Lindsey
06-03-2010, 03:19 PM
Okay, thanks!

Wild Turkey
06-03-2010, 03:28 PM
If you shoot for around 1wpg you shouldnt have a problem growing the plants you named. If you want to try higher light plants later on, you will probably want a little more.

I agree with rich on the color.

SunSchein89
06-03-2010, 08:23 PM
Yeah, the spectrum will never change if you're growing plants. Get the 6700K whenever possible. If this is for the 29 gal. in your signature, then a 40 watt bulb could you give you a good few options. Make sure your light fixture can hold whatever wattage you're putting in there, though, since most standard fixtures only hold low wattage fluorescent tubes. If you want to take the next step up, look into some compact fluorescent lighting fixtures or high output t5s on some of the big retailers online. You can normally find them pretty cheap. I just got a brand new fixture with a compact fluorescent bulb included for something like $65 and the shipping was only $7 from thatpetplace.com since they seemingly always run that special.

Lindsey
06-07-2010, 04:16 AM