PDA

View Full Version : Black Moor nipping my Oranda

LittlePrince
05-24-2010, 04:18 AM
Two questions, actually. I'll start with the fish problem.

I recently, two days ago, added a red cap oranda to my 65 gallon tank that has a shubunkin and a black moor in it. They all seem to really get along except I came home this evening and noticed that my black moor is following around the oranda and shoving it's face in the oranda's rear end. What's the deal? The oranda is not retaliating and doesn't seem incredibly bothered by it. The black moor isn't damaging the oranda, just being very invasive of personal space. Note that the black moor is at least 1/2 inch smaller than the oranda. My tank is in great condition with no sick fish. Since I turned out the light for the night the black moor has stopped bothering the oranda.

Second question: My goldfish pellet food contains algae. Will this create algae growths in my tank or is that a really stupid question?

I'm very new to fish keeping so bear with me. Thanks in advance for any comments and suggestions.

Meatloaf
05-24-2010, 06:08 AM
My telescoping eye goldie is now doing this to my ranchu too, and he's half the size. The oranda sometimes chases them around too, getting in on the action.

I have no idea what's going on though.

Brhino
05-24-2010, 01:41 PM
my black moor is following around the oranda and shoving it's face in the oranda's rear end. What's the deal? The oranda is not retaliating and doesn't seem incredibly bothered by it. The black moor isn't damaging the oranda, just being very invasive of personal space.

Mine do this too sometimes. I think it's just a bit of posturing/interaction. Unless you start to see any damage I wouldn't worry about it.

Second question: My goldfish pellet food contains algae. Will this create algae growths in my tank or is that a really stupid question?