PDA

View Full Version : General Goldfish Inquiry

LittlePrince
05-23-2010, 04:50 PM
Hi there! I'm totally new to the world of fish keeping. I have only been keeping fish for about 2 and a half weeks now. I can be a bit impulsive so when I went to the pet store to get cat food I ended up coming home with a 20 gallon tank and two small koi. Needless to say, due to not cycling the tank and not knowing that the fish needed colder water, they died by the next day. I still didn't know anything about cycling at this point except that the LFS told me to put a bacteria supplement and some water conditioner in the tank, so I did that and went to get two goldfish, a comet and a shubunkin. The comet died of swim bladder but the shubunkin is still going strong.

I have since upgraded, after extensive research, to a 65 gallon tank with the original shubunkin, three gold dojo loaches, a black moor, and a red cap oranda along with a few ghost shrimp that seem to end up more as fish food than pets (which I don't mind).

My inquiry is as to whether my set up is sufficient. Like said, I have a 65 gallon tank. It is fairly well planted, although not heavily, with sand and fine gravel substrate and a large piece of driftwood. I can't afford a really good filter right now so I kept the 20 gallon HOB filter from the old tank and just added a 50 gallon biowheel filter. They seem to be getting the job done as far as I can tell. The water is kept at room temp which fluctuates between 69-72 and I add frozen bottles of ice to slowly drop the temp if it starts to go above 72 (only on days when the tank gets a lot of direct sun light)

My fish are fed TetraColor sinking goldfish granules, peas, live black worms, frozen daphnia, ghost shrimp, and ramshorn snails. (not all at once of course) The oranda also enjoys tearing through the cabomba plants.